Getting a DUI charge can have serious implications on your ability to drive in any state. This is particularly true in Florida, after this type of offense leads to the suspension of your driving license.

Typically, after you have been arrested for a DUI charge, an electronic form known as a FR44 is issued to the individual. In this post, we’ll take a look at deeper look at FR44 insurance, how it relates to your auto insurance, and some of the ways in which you can apply for insurance license re-certification.

FR44 insurance

The FR44 insurance policy was introduced on February 2008 and has a mandatory requirement asking all individuals who get charged for a DUI to maintain it for a minimum of 3 years. If you fail to keep up with your premiums, your insurance company will be obligated to notify the DMV for insurance re-certification. This means you may have to get a new insurance package and possibly forfeit your earlier one.

An additional repercussion from a DUI charge is that your insurance premiums could rise more than 200 percent and stay that way for up to the next 36 months. Unfortunately, for most people, this could mean having to decide whether or not to abandon their insurance policy altogether if they aren't able to keep up with the high premiums.

This lapse in car insurance payments can mean having a written correspondence sent to your home. At the same time, being charged with a DUI might lead to your insurance policy being canceled since most insurance companies consider individuals who get caught up in these kinds of charges as high risk clients.

Reinstatement and re-certification

Reinstatement fees are set by your states DMV department. In Florida, for example, they stipulate that you must carry at least $10,000 minimum personal insurance protection and $10,000 minimum property coverage to drive. If you fail to comply, you’ll be faced with suspension of your driver’s license.

Reinstatement is different from re-certification. Re-certification is the process in which the DMV requires you or your agent to file paperwork certifying your compliant, new insurance coverage. This is especially important given the fluid and dynamic nature of these laws. The general rule of thumb here is that if you’re in doubt whether you should even be driving in the first place, you should probably check with your insurance company or attorney to be on the safe side.

At the end of the day, self-discipline, due diligence and getting the right agent for your car insurance can go a long way in ensuring that you’re on the right side with the law. Give us a call at (866) 663-7561 to get a FR44 insurance quote.

Posted 11:50 AM

Share |


NOTICE: This blog and website are made available by the publisher for educational and informational purposes only. It is not be used as a substitute for competent insurance, legal, or tax advice from a licensed professional in your state. By using this blog site you understand that there is no broker client relationship between you and the blog and website publisher.
Blog Archive


View Mobile Version

 



Wessell Insurance Services, llc

1676 Bryan Road, #103
O'Fallon, MO 63368

Toll Free: 866-663-7561
Local: 636-614-4125
Email: Info@sr22-insurance-policies.com

Insurance Products


Auto 
Non-Owner Auto
SR22 
FR44
Broad Form 
Motorcycle 
Commercial Auto

Home

About Us

Blog

Contact Us

Free Quote