New Virginia Law repeals UMV fee now Requiring Auto Insuranceto register vehicles
As of July 1, 2024 all Virginia drivers will be required to carry liability auto insurance. Virginia and New Hampshire are currently the only two states which don’t require liability car insurance, in the Commonwealth you can pay an annual UMV or uninsured motorist fee of $500 in place of insurance policy. Bill SB 951 passed the legislature in February 2023 repealing the UMV fee option. In order to register a new vehicle or renew registration of a vehicle every driver will be required to provide proof of mandatory liability auto insurance which meets or exceeds the state minimum amounts of bodily injury $30k per person, $60k per accident and property damage of $20k. Wessell Insurance is a great place to find the cheapest insurance rates. Wessell has been serving the commonwealth of Virginia for 17 years. We can answer all your questions and provide fast FREE QUOTE. Call us at 866 663 7561 Wessell Insurance can set you up with Auto Insurance with Liability only or Full coverage (Comp / Coll), we also have Motorcycle / Scooter policies and we have Non-Owner policies, often called Operator or Non Driver. Wessell also specializes in out of state licenses or hard to insure drivers, we provide SR22 and FR44 insurance with same day filing. CLICK HERE for online quote form.