Home » State Insurance » Virginia SR22 / FR44 Insurance

Virginia SR22 / FR44 Insurance

a city street with a roller coaster in the background

Free Quote

Cheapest SR22 FR44 non owner or auto insurance in Virginia


VA law requires all drivers to carry state minimum liability insurance. SR-22 insurance is required to get your drivers license reinstated after driving without insurance, applying for a hardship license, by court order, etc. SR22-Insurance-Policies.com can provide you with the cheapest SR22 insurance quote, car, non owner and motorcycle insurance quote.

Do I need an SR22 form insurance if I don’t have a car? Yes, the state will require you to get an SR22 non owner insurance policy to get your driver’s license reinstated.

SR-22 / FR-44 filing is required for the following violations, but not limited to:   •  Judgment’s against a driver that are still unsatisfied.

•  Felony under the motor vehicle laws, or when a motor vehicle is used.
•  Falsifying insurance documents.
•  Falsifying registration of motor vehicles or drivers license application.
•  Manslaughter resulting from a motor vehicle.
•  Suspension license.
•  DUI

What is an SR22?

SR-22 (“SR” stands for “safety responsibility”) is an endorsement to an insurance policy that verifies legal liability insurance. The endorsement is filed with the state by an insurance carrier. It is not an insurance policy by itself, and can not be purchased by itself, but serves as proof to the state that you have acquired the state mandated financial responsibility coverage to restore your driving privileges.

has been providing coverage in the state of VA for over ten years and can get you the cheapest SR22 quote.  Don’t over pay for your policy, give us a call with any questions you might have about your SR-22 filing and getting your license reinstated. Finding the right company to file your SR 22 can be difficult, let our experienced agents help you.

Mandatory Insurance Limits:
All drivers, including those requiring an SR 22 form, are required to have the legal liability insurance limits of 30/60/20 Updated February 15, 2024

$30,000 bodily injury of 1 person
$60,000 bodily injury of 2 or more people
$20,000 property damage
$30,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury of 1 person
$60,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury of 2 or more persons
$20,000 uninsured motorist property damage

A Virginia FR44 certification is required for the following convictions:

Injuring someone while under the influence, operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicants or drugs / DUI, driving while the driver’s license has been forfeited for a conviction, the finding of not innocent in the case of a juvenile, and finally the violation of the provisions of any federal law or law of any other state, or any valid local ordinance close to the above.  You can meet VA requirements with a non owner FR44 insurance policy or with FR44 auto insurance.

Virginia FR-44 liability insurance coverage limits are double the SR-22 insurance coverage limits

$60,000 bodily injury for 1 person
$120,000 bodily injury for 2 or more persons
$40,000 property damage
$25,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury for 1 person

$50,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury for 2 or more persons
$20,000 uninsured motorist property damage

Cheapest SR22 FR44 non owner or auto insurance in Virginia


If you need an interlock (blowing device) INTOXALOCK is the way to go


For additional information on SR22 or FR44 contact:

Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles

P.O. Box 27412 Richmond, VA 23269

phone 804 497 7100 www.dmv.virginia.gov


Insurance Products

Auto Insurance
SR22 Insurance
High Risk Auto
Non-Owner Insurance
FR44 Insurance
Commercial Vehicle
Bad Driving Record
Motorcycle Insurance
Broad Form Insurance
Golf Cart

States We Work In:


North CarolinaOhio
South Carolina

Virginia and New Hampshire have long been the only 2 states which don’t require mandatory liability auto insurance.  Virginia has the option to pay a $500 Uninsured Motorist annual fee at time of registration.  As of July 1, 2024 this UMV fee will no longer be an option, bill SB951 which passed the commonwealth’s legislature in February 2023 repeals this UMV fee.   Every driver will be required to carry mandatory liability coverage auto insurance in order to register or renew registration for any vehicle with minimum limits of Bodily Injury $30k per person, $60k per accident, Property Damage $20k.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

©2024. All rights reserved. | Powered by Zywave Websites